Lipedema

Lipedema is a chronic disease of the subcutaneous fatty tissue that is still largely unknown and often overseen by doctors. It is partially hereditary and its causes have not yet been fully clarified.

Symptoms of lipedema

Those affected show a strong tendency to bruising, which is caused by an increased fragility of the blood vessels. The permeability of the vessel walls increases as a result and more lymph fluid enters the surrounding tissue. This can no longer be transported away by the intact lymph vessel system and a typical feeling of pressure and tension develops. The constant proliferation of fat cells is a cause of oxygen deficiency in the tissue. As a result, an inflammatory process is set in motion, which leads to further tissue damage and pain in the case of lipedema.

Lipoedema has so far only been proven on legs and arms, scientific evidence for lipoedema on the abdomen or other areas has not yet been established.  In addition to the buttocks and hips, the legs or thighs are also most frequently affected by lipedema in 97 percent of cases.

In 31 percent of the cases, the typical symptoms of lipedema also appear on the arms. Experience shows that even in a symptom-free condition, the arms themselves carry at least the predisposition to lipedema and in the further course of time also develop a condition requiring surgery. The manifestation on the arms is often less pronounced or only becomes apparent with increasing age.

Affected persons, who already fall ill during puberty, often suffer considerably from the physical effects of the lipedema, also psychologically. The lipedema does not react or hardly reacts at all to attempts to lose weight through sport, healthy nutrition or a diet. This circumstance considerably increases the frustration of the affected women

At the beginning of the 2000s, Dr. Falk-Christian Heck first came into contact with a previously unknown disease – lipedema. The clinical picture of the affected women was met with neither acceptance nor understanding by the doctors. Even today, in many cases lipedema is still misdiagnosed as overweight or obesity (adiposity). The disease often remains undetected for a long time. Those affected suffer from shame, self-reproach and frustration.

As an experienced surgeon, Dr. Heck developed a completely new and sustainably effective surgical method, the lipedema surgery (lipo-decompression), which

  • stops the lipedema
  • is a pain-free surgery
  • eliminates the need for compression garments
  • improves the quality of life

These are still our goals today at the LipoClinic Dr. Heck GmbH!

We are here for you! You can gladly call us at +49 208 44475981 or contact us by filling out our contact form.

If you decide to proceed with the treatment at the LipoClinic, we kindly ask you to consider the following:

  • You need a flat-knitted custom-made compression garment in compression class 2. This can be prescribed by your phlebologist or family doctor.
  • For treatment, a diagnosis for lipedema must be provided in a written form by an external specialist for lipedema (e.g. a phlebologist or lymphologist).
  • For reasons of anaesthesia eligibility, your body weight should be below 130kg. If your weight is higher, we will be happy to advise you on alternative approaches.

Contact form (footer)

Contact details
Personal
Medical
Consent
Please agree that we store your personal data for the necessary period of time for the given purpose. We will only use the data transmitted in this process for the purpose in which it was given to us. Please also read our privacy policy. Data privacy policy. Data privacy policy.

* Mandatory field

Das Lipödem

Das Lipödem ist eine noch immer weitgehend unbekannte und von Ärzten oft übersehene chronische Erkrankung des Unterhautfettgewebes. Sie ist teilweise vererblich. Ihre Ursachen sind noch nicht vollständig geklärt. 

Symptome des Lipödems

Die Betroffenen zeigen eine starke Neigung zu blauen Flecken, die aufgrund einer erhöhten Brüchigkeit der Blutgefäße entsteht. Die Durchlässigkeit der Gefäßwände nimmt dadurch zu und es tritt vermehrt Lymphflüssigkeit in das umliegende Gewebe. Diese kann vom intakten Lymphgefäßsystem nicht mehr abtransportiert werden und es kommt zum typischen Druck- und Spannungsgefühl. Die stetige Vermehrung der Fettzellen ist eine Ursache für Sauerstoffmangel im Gewebe. In der Folge wird ein Entzündungsprozess in Gang gesetzt, der zu weiteren Gewebeschädigungen und Schmerzen bei einem Lipödem führt.

Ein Lipödem ist bisher nur an Beinen und Armen nachgewiesen, der wissenschaftliche Nachweis für ein Lipödem am Bauch oder anderen Stellen ist bisher noch nicht erbracht.  Neben Gesäß und Hüften sind in 97 Prozent der Fälle auch die Beine bzw. die Oberschenkel am häufigsten vom Lipödem betroffen.

In 31 Prozent der Fälle zeigen sich die typischen Symptome eines Lipödems auch an den Armen. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass die Arme selbst in symptomlosen Zustand zumindest die Anlage zum Lipödem in sich tragen und im weiteren Verlauf ebenfalls einen operationsbedürftigen Befund entwickeln. Die Ausprägung an den Armen ist oftmals geringer bzw. kommt erst mit zunehmendem Alter zum Tragen.

Betroffene, die bereits in der Pubertät erkranken, leiden häufig auch seelisch erheblich unter den körperlichen Auswirkungen des Lipödems. Das Lipödem reagiert nicht oder kaum auf Versuche durch Sport, gesunde Ernährung oder eine Diät abzunehmen. Dieser Umstand steigert die Frustration der betroffenen Frauen erheblich.

Anfang der 2000-er kam Dr. Falk-Christian Heck zum ersten Mal mit dem Lipödem, einer bis dahin unbekannten Krankheit, in Berührung. Das Krankheitsbild der betroffenen Frauen stieß bei Ärzten weder auf Akzeptanz noch auf Verständnis. Bis heute wird das Lipödem in vielen Fällen als Übergewicht oder Fettleibigkeit (Adipositas) fehlgedeutet. Es bleibt häufig lange unerkannt. Die Betroffenen leiden unter Scham, Selbstvorwürfen und Frustration.

Als erfahrener Chirurg entwickelte Dr. Heck Anfang der 2000-er eine völlig neue und nachhaltig wirksame Operationsmethode: die Lipödem-Chirurgie (Lipo-Dekompression).

  • Das Lipödem stoppen,
  • schmerzfrei werden,
  • nie mehr Kompressionswäsche tragen und
  • ein Stück Lebensqualität zurückgeben.

Das sind bis heute unsere Ziele in der LipoClinic Dr. Heck GmbH!

Wir sind für Sie da! Sie erreichen uns telefonisch unter +49 208 44475981. Rufen Sie uns gerne an oder nutzen Sie unser Kontaktformular.

Wenn Sie sich für eine Behandlung in der LipoClinic Dr. Heck GmbH entscheiden, bitten wir Sie, Folgendes zu beachten:

  • Sie benötigen eine flachgestrickte Kompressionsstrumpfhose der Kompressionsklasse 2 nach Maß. Diese wird vom Phlebologen oder Hausarzt verschrieben.
  • Für die Behandlung muss die Lipödem-Diagnose von einem externen Facharzt für Lipödem (z. B. einem Phlebologen oder Lymphologen) in schriftlicher Form vorliegen.
  • Aus Gründen der Narkosefähigkeit sollte Ihr Körpergewicht unter 130 kg liegen. Bei einem höheren Gewicht beraten wir Sie gerne über Alternativen.

Kontaktfomular (Footer)

Kontaktdaten
Persönliches
Medizinisch
Einwilligung
Bitte willigen Sie ein, dass wir Ihre personenbezogenen Daten für den nötigen Zeitraum des Zwecks speichern dürfen. Die hierbei übermittelten Daten verwenden wir nur für den einen Zweck, für den sie uns überlassen wurden. Bitte lesen Sie dazu auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

* Pflichtfeld